Some poeple think that the best way to solve the problem of air pollution in cities is to increase the cost of vehicle fuel. Others think that different measures should be taken

Some believe that air pollution can be tackled in the best possible way by increasing the vehicle fuel cost; others feel that different measures should be taken. In my opinion, I believe that while increasing the cost of vehicle fuel is the most appropriate solution, especially with regard to discouragement, there should be an overhaul of vehicles that run on fuel.

On the one hand, increasing the cost of vehicle fuel will solve the air pollution problem by discouraging consumers from buying it. Fuel is necessary as most of the vehicles in the world are dependent on it, and if the price of petrol or diesel increases, then there would be a reduced supply of fuel relative to the demand for it, which would make customers feel that going to the gas station is not worth it anymore. For example, the AQI in the metropolis of Mumbai improved recently from 250 the previous day to 100 the next because the cost of petrol was increased by 10 rupees a litre and there were announcements that subsequent hikes would be more than the previous one.

However, different measures should be pursued as they are more long-term in nature compared to hikes in vehicle fuel prices. Measures that aren’t financial in nature but are instead driven by technology and the environment would awaken people’s conscience as they would feel a greater need to protect the environment, so this would reflect greater sensitivity and people’s preferences would change eventually. For instance, the Modi government implored to Indian citizens to ensure they use fuel with utmost prudence, and if possible, they should switch electronic vehicles and public transport as they release fewer emissions compared to fuel-based vehicles.

In conclusion, increasing the cost of vehicle fuel is seen as the easiest way to solve air pollution, while other solutions require a greater amount of time for implementation. Even if the revolutionary measures take a considerable amount of time, their impact would be more positive, and this would result in environmental well-being.