Some poeple think that the best way to solve the problem of air pollution in cities is to increase the cost of vehicle fuel. Others think that different measures should be taken

Many individuals believe that, In order to mitigate the problem of air pollution in towns, the price of vehicle fuel should be increased. while others argue that other methods could be adopted. However, I agree with the latter view as merely increasing the cost of fuel is not an optimal solution.

On the one hand, if the government raises the rates of petrol and diesel, people may refrain from using their automobiles, but only up to some extent. This reduction may help in lowering the pollution level caused by vehicles. For instance, if petrol and diesel becomes expensive, individuals may shift towards public transport or electrical cars, which are eco-friendly. However, I do not completely agree with this view because vehicles are not the only reason responsible for air pollution.

On the other hand, Significant amount of pollution is being caused by the industries. Smoke and fumes released by them in the air increase the number of pollutants thereby raising the pollution levels. To reduce the detrimental effects posed by factories government should restrict the industries which are the prime reason for poor quality of air. For example, imposing heavy taxes on certain manufacturing units can restrain them from releasing pollutants directly in the air thus decreasing the menace of polluted air.

In conclusion, while raising the cost of fuels can be beneficial but taking other measures such as imposing heavy taxes on pollution-causing factories can bring more positive results in solving the given problem.