In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Paperbooks have been one of the greatest sources of knowledge since humans learned how to read and write and sought ways to record their experiences throughout history, which allows future generations to inherit the wisdom of their ancestors. The introduction of the internet has recently been the game changer in terms of long-term knowledge storage, raising questions about its benefits and drawbacks for several outlined reasons below.

First and foremost, many people from parts of the world favor traditional books, yet the disadvantages of these books should also be considered. Undoubtedly, printed books require a large amount of paper and ink, which can harm the environment through deforestation for paper production and ink manufacturing. Despite continuous efforts to make books more eco-friendly, the final cost can be higher than what is commonly affordable. Moreover, compared to the standards of today’s modern, busy, and fast-paced life, the drawbacks of physical books unintentionally make them less popular. It is undeniable that they are difficult to preserve over time due to susceptibility to corrosion and pests, requiring regular maintenance. Also, because of physical materials such as paper, these books are heavy and difficult to transport and use.

On the other hand, the internet has nearly addressed all the disadvantages of physical books, since it does not demand physical space for storage and maintenance, as well as enabling people to access information on its online platforms, apps, and websites. In addition, thanks to technological advances, many books are available as e-books, making them convenient for offline use. However, a critical disadvantage of the internet is that it is an ideal environment for spreading and disseminating fake news and unverified information. For many internet users without a solid foundational knowledge, they are prone to being misled by false information.

In conclusion, personally, based on the arguments presented, I believe that the internet can replace printed books, but only if it thoroughly sorts out its critical shortcomings. Once the information available online is verified and accurate, as well as the technical problems are resolved, the internet will surely become the primary source of information in the near future.