The prevalence of social media has significantly altered how people form relationships. How has social media impacted the development of interpersonal skills, particularly among young people? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Agreed by almost everyone, communication is one of the most important things in individuals’ lives. However, the increase of usage of social media has changed people’s communication skills especially in terms of relationships for years. I completely agree that there are not only positive impacts of social media but there are also drawbacks of it on relationships nowadays.

On the one hand, it might be hard for some people make friends in real life because they are shy. These people who struggle with face-to-face communication can meet others through social media and improve their relations way more easily. Secondly, social media provides individuals to meet other people who are from different countries. Thus, individuals can practice not only a foreign language that they want to learn, but they also daily conversation ability with other residents from different cultures.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of social media in people’s daily lives. Firstly, usage of social media may kill one’s face-to-face communication skills. Because of chat friends online consistently, some people especially kids may become afraid of talking people in real life and tend to being an introvert day by day. Last but not least, social media usage might encourage some people to talk others in a rude way because it is an online communication. It may create psychological problems on people. However, if social media is used in a balanced way by individuals, the risks might be mitigated.

To sum up, there are both benefits and drawbacks of social media on people’s interaction with each other, it depends on how they use it.