With the rise of personalized medicine, should governments prioritize funding for treatments tailored to individuals, or should they focus on broader public health initiatives? What are the potential benefits and drawbacks of each approach?

With the increase of privatized medicine, should authorities prioritize allocating funds for treatments meant for people rather than for general public healthcare initiatives. This essay will examine both the advantages and the disadvantages.

One key reason government should prioritize investing money for individual treatment is that people battle different illness which they can’t afford to fund their medical bills by themselves, some go as far as getting donations from strangers. If the authorities could support these affected people by financing their treatment it would be of best interest. Everyday we see people suffer from cancer, Kidney problem, lupus these ailments are ones average citizens can’t fund from the diagnosis till they heal, they need support to enhance their chances of surviving. For instance we all know how USAID has helped finance HIV/AIDs treatment which makes the medication accessible for the affected people.

However, prioritizing personalized treatment over general healthcare may generate serious inequalities because such treatments are expensive, funding this will be a form of extravagant spending for the government cannot save everyone. Money should be put in public healthcare to get vaccines to possibly avoid few of these sicknesses in the future. Consequently, money meant for the general public shouldn’t be used to treat private individuals.

In conclusion, the government should rather invest in public healthcare initiatives, provide vaccines, renovates public hospitals and sponsor campaigns against viruses.