The prevalence of social media has significantly altered how people form relationships. How has social media impacted the development of interpersonal skills, particularly among young people? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Social media has impacted the development of interpersonal skills on forming relationships, especially among young people. I will explain the reasons behind this and give my opinion on this issue.

Firstly, it makes people lazy to socialize face to face. They tend to see one another through the story on platform such as Instagram, SnapChat or WhatsApp. They will take it as the other people real life real condition of that person at that moment. It makes people who see it will likely feeling envy rather than empathy. In old times when there were no social media the conversations happen between people to get valuable information about something now people relation just seems to be a contest of who looks happier.

In addition,young people who only interact from social media will not learn to cooperate with other human since real life and social media ara very different tool such as, when an individual follow other person on instagram, they probably can comment to another picture freely and feel very close to one another, they will feel like they do not each other since meeting throuch social media (texting) is very different with real life meeting. There are some factors, such as environment, voice tone, physicue, etc. which only can be experienced through a real life situation. Some researchs have shown that these factors are strengthening bond between individuals.

In conclusion, I think the impact that social media is really bad in forming relationship because it tends to show off rahther than create a meaningful conversation and it reduces the bond between people.