Many people are working longer hours. What are the reasons and effects.

There is a growing debate about the people that are working longer hours in many countries. This essay will discuss why countries increase working hours and what is the issues can long hours of work do.

On one hand, some countries make their people work for long hours. This because working for longer hours can help in leveraging the overall productivity of the state. For example a factory that extend their working hours can produce more than before, Furthermore, more production results in extra profit for the manufacturers. Therefore, when the throughput of the manufacturing increases the GDP also rises respectively and that what governments value the most.

On the other hand, this can cause a decline of the quality of the citizens lifes and also the happiness indicator drops. This is happening as a result of long hours of work, which lead to less job satisfaction among the employees. For instance, everyday people’s energy will be consumed by the end of their duty. As a result, individuals will have less time for their life and that violates the life work balance principle. Moreover, families will be affected, due to the limited time they will communicate with each other.

In conclusion, working for longer hours can have a positive effect on the countries. Whereas the long duty hours can lead to a lower quality of life and dropping the citizens happiness indicator.