In the past, knowledge was stored in books. Today, people store knowledge on the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the ancient times, knowledge was saved in physical items such as books or newspapers. These days, this information is digitalized, this means it transferred to the internet. While this shift provides certain benefits, such as comfortable reading in everywhere and saves expenses, it also presents several drawbacks, including reduction of vision and unreliable content.

Effortless reading in anywhere and keeping expenditures are regarded as the main advantages of digitalized books. When people commute daily, they prefer to read digitalized books which are loaded to the network. Because e-books usually do not be heavy to hold, people choose to read this type of reading while they are commute. As an example, electronic book apps such as Mybook or Litres. Another positive side of digital book is preventing from excessive charges. Readers usually use e-books in order to save money. For instance, individuals can acquire either monthly or yearly subscription and they can read wide range of books endlessly throughout the period. Thus, internet books can be beneficial provided that people use in terms of comfortable reading in everywhere and prevention from needless payments.

However, despite these benefits, there are also considerable drawbacks, including effect on health with reduced vision and lack of reliability to their content. Decrease of eyesight usually causes from excessive usage of electronically devices. Readers who are fun of e-books, they are damaged from spending a lot of time near the devices. Japanese users can be prime example, they wear glasses in early ages so that they harmed their eye due to reading electronic books excessively. Another negative side of internet books are that prevention from unreliable content. Nowadays, many ordinary people learned how to upload unofficial materials and this lead to decrease of trusting among readership. For example, there are ai-generated books or made by simple people who haven’t certificate and this causes increase of unreliable sources. Therefore, as an increasing number of unreliable content and impacting on vision ability, these are major disadvantages of electronic books.

In conclusion, although many positive aspects of e-books such as comfortable reading in anywhere and saving expenses, some negative apsects also such as reduced vision and untrusted sources.