In the past, most people lived in small villages, where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities, where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think are advantages and disadvantages of living in small community.

Until recently, majority of people lived in villages where they were born. However, now people tend to live in large cities and, as a result, their way of life has changed.

There were a number of benefits. Firstly, people knew each other and, in the village where my father came from, everyone spoke to each other, so they never felt lonely. Secondly, neighbours could leave their children if they were going to work or away. They would also teach kids good behaviour. Children would have good social and communication skills as they played with their peers. Moreover, life in the village was much safer and there was little crime. Everyone was happy even though they had a simple life.

On the other hand, despite these advantages, there were some drawbacks. The villages were usually located far from schools. To illustrate, my father studied in the primary school that was located in the neighbouring village, and then he went to the nearest secondary school which was located in the town some kilometres away from his home. This meant that most children did not have access to good education, as a result, they could not pursue higher education. Thus, it led to do agricultural work. If children were ambitious, they had to move away or to cities, and few people had the chance to do this. Also, hospitals were far away from villages and if people were sick, they had to travel a long way to reach the nearest one.

All in all, I think people in the past lived in closely-knit communities in villages, whereas now people live in their own isolated worlds. I believe that it should be up to people to choose where to live.