In the past, most people lived in small villages, where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities, where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think are advantages and disadvantages of living in small community.

Living in a small village may be seen by some people as the ideal way of living. In the past, most of the population was concentrated in small towns. This has its advantages but also disadvantages. In this essay, I will point out some of these and give some examples.

In the past, it was common for people to spend their entire lives in the same place where they were born, such as in a small village outside the capital city. Living in familiar space has many advantages; one of the most significant is the reliance and support among the residents. This familiarity and tight-knit help strengthen the bond between the people in the community. For example, it was common for parents to leave their children with their neighbors when there was some emergency, without worrying about danger or payment because everybody knew everybody. This support and help between them gave a sense of community and a healthy environment. However, living in this closeness and tight environment where everybody seems to know and be aware of the private lives of each resident, it’s not always a positive thing. It can lead to a loss of privacy and initiative to try or do things differently because one is expected to behave and follow the law or norms, which are considered the most adequate by the majority of the residents. Another drawback that comes from living in a rural area is the lack of opportunity that the place can offer, such as the perspective to progress on a career chosen. This can be a trigger to move toward urban or cosmopolitan cities, where the opportunity for better jobs and consequently the sense of fulfillment are more achievable. Take, for example, a junior doctor who wants to stand out in his/her field will feel the necessity to relocate in order to achieve their goals.

In conclusion, living in a small village can be attractive and secure, but it has many negative aspects, like the lack of opportunity and loss of freedom. To sum up, the disadvantages outweigh its advantages.