In the past, parents used to spend more time with their children by reading books or telling stories. However, in modern life, these activities are becoming less common because children now have many sources of entertainment and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate regarding, parents used to read books or tell stories to their children. However, nowadays, children have access to modern entertainment and technology. A group of individuals believe that, reading together strengthens the bond between parent and child and also support early literacy development. Despite others claim that, modern amusement foster independence. Therefore, ahead of my opinion, both the views will be discussed further.

Examining the first opinion, the primary argument supporters would put forward is building a close emotional connection in family. This is because, storytelling creates nutritious environment for children. It follows that child receive warmth and knows he is loved. In addition, they also believe that, telling stories develop cognitive development. The reason is that, while child is listening, he is already looking for solutions and knows how to act if specific situation happens to him.

On the other hand, those people who’s in opposition have their own arguments. To begin with they claim that, current amusement is building independent generation. At this point, children learn how to entertain themselves without parents. For example, as an alternative for books, they watch Youtube videos or play storyline games, these activities require no parents. As a result, 21st century is creating self-sufficient generation.

To conclude and offer my position, there are convincing arguments both for and against storytelling. However, I certainly favour the first opinion.