In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays people store knowledge on the Internet. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It has become more and more popular for storing information on the Internet. There are advantages to this, but I feel that it is also a risk and could lead to some problems.

The first advantage of storing knowledge on the Internet is that it allows people to access knowledge from many sources. The key rationale is that search engines such as Google or Wikipedia could help individuals to explore content on various topics with a double click on a mouse. In addition, many Internet users prefer to learn something new through the Internet because the knowledge would be stored in different formats. The key rationale in favor of this view is that a large amount of information that is covered in books is sometimes really hard for readers to imagine and absorb while the Internet provides learners with knowledge in digital forms such as videos or pictures. In particular, individuals are prone to find some via clips that are relevant to some knowledge , which are widespread on many websites.

However, there are several negative aspects that should be taken into consideration. One obvious negative effect of this trend is that some information on the Internet is not reliable. It is often argued that the reliability of knowledge on the website is not guaranteed because many things are posted on the Internet without verification so it could lead to Internet users acquiring inaccurate knowledge. Moreover, using constantly digital devices such as laptop or tablet for storing infỏmation may cause some physical problems such as eye strain. For instance, if childrens always stay at home and learn something new through internet platforms such as youtube or facebook, they could be easily addicted and drop out with some outdoor activities.

In conclusion, online knowledge storage can be beneficial because it allows people to absorb the knowledge more flexibly and effectively. However, they should also be careful that it is not reliable and causes several health problems.