In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays people store knowledge on the Internet. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In the past, most of the knowledge known to mankind was kept in books, which was stored in libraries and other places around the world. However, nowadays, with the creation of the Internet, most of the information is being kept online. In my opinion, the benefits of this development outshine its counterpart and this essay will explain the reason for it.

Admittedly, books have long been the main method humans used to store information. Because of this, the system developed to keep these books safe and accessible has been improved a great deal. An example of this is how libraries keep their books in good condition. With special containers and weekly maintenance, most of the books in libraries can last hundreds of years. Though this is true to some extent, I believe this system is not perfect and has many vulnerabilities. Due to their paper material, almost no book can survive a fire. Therefore, storing knowledge in books poses a serious threat to the knowledge in them.

On the other hand, data on the Internet has many advantages in comparison to books. One reason is its availability for everyone. With the existence of sites like Wikipedia, people can access an enormous amount of knowledge for free anywhere at any time with only a device that has a good Internet connection. Compared to books, which can be heavier while containing only a limited amount of information. Another factor to take into consideration is the distribution of data. In modern societies, nearly everyone has access to the Internet and they can download the knowledge online to their devices. This makes sure that even when the original copy disappears, the knowledge in it will not be lost and can be passed to others.

In conclusion, keeping data on the Internet is much more beneficial than the traditional way of storing knowledge in books. With its availability and widespread distribution, data online can be accessed easier and harder to be lost.