In the past, people used to travel abroad to look for many differences from their home country. Nowadays, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons?Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely acknowledged that in bygone eras many differences can be seen among countries which made people move to another country in search of them. However, homogenization is the status quo in the present days, manifesting in the similarity of cities. This essay attempts to shed light on the reasons why this happened prior to concluding that this is an unwelcome trend.

Admittedly, the greater uniformity of cities globally could enhance the socioeconomic milieu. The rationale behind this is the improvement in infrastructure and facilities. The characteristics of typical cities worldwide feature a multitude of amenities along with modern and connected commuting routes. This fosters convenience in commuting and transporting as well as catering to the needs of citizens.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned perk, I side with proponents of the idea that the universal resemblance of cities can bring adverse effects, and one of them is economic displacement. The homogenization of urban planning can give rise to the priority of multinational cooperations and standard commercial establishments which can give off a uniformed ambience over local business. This could give rise to the loss of the livelihoods of small businesses. A pertinent example of this is the integration of KFC into Viet Nam which thwarted the development of restaurants specializing in serving fried food. Moreover, the state of affairs can engender environmental challenges. This is built on the ground that urban sprawl can be translated into the disappearance of green spaces, animal habitats, and forests as well as the deterioration of air quality. This could largely be explained by the negligence of urban planning regarding sustainability and conservation happening unequivocally. This can be seen in the case of the urban development in mountainous areas in the north of Vietnam. This caused a diminution in animal diversity, trees, and reserved forests and as a result, soil erosion was inevitable.

In conclusion, albeit with the heightened living conditions the increasing level of likeness of cities is creating, I would opine that the disadvantages cannot be eclipsed by the advantages owing to green issues and the dominance of multinational establishments.