In this era, many companies have abandoned the normal hierarchical structure and started using a more dynamic one. Why? What is the impact?

In this day and age, the conventional model of work that emphasizes specific roles and the establishment of structure has yielded to a more disordered structure in a wide range of enterprises. In this essay, I would explain the underlying reasons leading to this development before assessing its potential implications.

There are several factors which can account for the waning popularity of the hierarchical structure among modern firms. Specifically, in the past, particularly during the industrial era, the working purposes were primarily associated with manufacturing products, which demanded a strict structure, encompassing a clear hierarchy of the authority, to ensure the processes to be entirely managed appropriately and the optimal productivity. Conversely, since the traditional economy based on manual labor has gradually converted into an intellectual and servicing-oriented one, innovation and creativity are significantly appreciated and highly encouraged. This would result in a more flexible structure, in which employees can be empowered to articulate their perspectives and propose novel suggestions, their enterprises could be offered an advantage against other competitors.

Another fundamental reason for the widespread abolition of the employment of hierarchy into the workplace is related to its lack of collaborating attribute. To be more precise, individuals in earlier periods mandatorily abided by stringent instructions, standards and rules in order to obtain the most efficient management. Such rigid actions could constrain the interpersonal interactions and collaborations, thus intensifying a sense of isolation and diminishing work incentive. Nowadays, with the application of a more flexible organizational model, firms can effectively erect an intimate workplace for employees, thereby prompting a teamwork environment. Consequently, if a person encounters obstacles when working, they can obtain assistance from others to tackle their working issues, which might maximize work productivity.

In conclusion, due to a range of beneficial advantages in terms of being more vocal about their ideas and collaborating attribute, a more disordered work structure can establish a more optimal work environment. Therefore, this model of work should be adopted and utilized in several specific companies.