In this era, many companies have abandoned the normal hierarchical structure and started using a more dynamic one. Why? What is the impact?

Nowadays, the abolition of the conventional hierarchical structure has appeared in most companies. Instead, they started applying a more flexible one. There are some understandable reasons and their respective influences that will be explained clearly in this essay.

First and foremost, this model transformation in the workplace is attributed to rapid changes in society. In the past, particularly during the industrial era, people concentrated mainly on manufacturing products. This necessitated a rigorous working process and a strict structure, which can ensure optimal productivity. However, the economy has gradually converted into an intellectual and service-oriented one, the application of flexible working models, in which employees are empowered to speak out their personal perspectives and propose novel suggestions, is valued more.

As a result, the flexibility in the working hierarchy and workers’ active contribution can offer many advantages over other competitors.

Another fundamental reason for the waning popularity of the normal structure is a lack of collaborative attributes. Previously, individuals had to follow strict structures, standards, and rules in order to gain effective management. Such rigid actions constrain interpersonal interactions and collaboration, thus intensifying a sense of isolation and diminishing working incentive. By applying a more flexible, active, and fair working environment, employees have more chances to work as a team, which improves communication skills and even erects an intimate workplace. For example, if a person runs into obstacles, they can actively ask for assistance from other colleagues to find solutions. This scenario helps ensure productivity and make progress eventually.

In conclusion, the transformation from a strict working structure to a more dynamic and flexible one stems from several reasons, such as changes in society and a lack of collaboration. However, this brings about potential implications. For example, individuals become more vocal to suggest novel ideas, and collaborative and interactive activities are enhanced, ensuring a dynamic and close-knit working environment.