In this era, many companies have abandoned the normal hierarchical structure and started using a more dynamic one. Why? What is the impact?

In the modern world, the conventional model of work with specific roles has been eliminated by a large number of companies. Instead, they have applied a more flexible structure, welcoming different opinions from all members. In this essay, I will evaluate the main reasons of this phenomenon, therefore analysing its impacts on those organisations.

There is one major reason why this dynamic model of work has been implemented in various companies. In the past, agricultural and manufacturing fields were the two primary sources of labour, which were shaped by the Industrial Revolution. As a result, the conventional structure was widely applied to ensure the efficiency of those processes, with the chairman holding supreme authority and employees contributing to achieve business objectives.This structure was believed to minimise the risk of errors and disorder in operating a company. However, as society has become increasingly technologically-driven with more quality-conscious consumers, more service-oriented industries have established. Those provide a friendly work environment with a commitment to equality, where employees can freely deliver their initiatives to achieve the mutual objective: satisfying customer demands. For instance, various prominent projects worldwide from large industrial firms have shown the value of employee contributions in structuring and developing ideas. Therefore, the hierarchical factor in some organisations has been replaced due to the limited range of ideas from different perspectives.

This flexible work model offers both positive and negative impacts. As quality customer service is the major concern in companies from many parts of the world, having a model without specific roles in a company can broaden the opportunities y to enhance the effectiveness. While the chairman plays a pivotal role in running operating a business and managing processes, employees are the ones who directly interact with customers. As a result, they can have a better understanding of customer demands and therefore, providing a proper assessment to a business’s current state of service and effectively improve it. In addition, equal chances to share opinions increases the likelihood of recognising potential employees in different fields. For instance, employees with expertise in distinct aspects, can collaborate with those in charge to improve efficiency.Nevertheless, this dynamic model of work can be prone to disorder, impacting a company’s normal operation due to the freedom of work contribution. Those people who hold executive responsibility can not be replaced with employees by granting similar rights to make business decisions. This is due to the lack of experience among workers to be accountable for any of the chairman’s usual job,therefore leading to potential errors and role confusion.

In conclusion, the shift towards a dynamic work model has one main reason and both positive and negative influences. As the modern world has increasingly focused on providing quality services, employees are given the freedom to contribute to major projects, which has led to the emergence of this model of work.While it can enhance efficiency and innovation by leveraging employee insights, it also presents challenges in maintaining order and accountability. Ultimately, the success of this approach depends on a company’s ability to find a balance between flexibility and structure, ensuring that employees are empowered while maintaining a clear framework for decision-making and operations.