In this modern world, almost all families in big cities are equipped with high-tech home devices to deal with housework. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In this day and age, with the advancements of science and technology, dealing with housework by smart home devices is a prevalent trend in almost all families in big cities. In this essay, I will point out the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon.

One significant advantage of using smart home devices is that they enable residents in large cities to save time and concentrate more on their careers. Firstly, the features of intelligent appliances are convenient and user-friendly, leading to people having more time to do what they want, particularly in boosting their career skills. Secondly, the convenience and efficiency of automation make people comfortable and enable them to concentrate more on their work or study. For instance, mature people who are studying tourism can take almost all their time to practice English communication without worrying about the cleanliness of their house.

Turning to the disadvantages of utilizing electronic home systems, these include a sedentary lifestyle and an impact on the environment. When smart devices can do all household chores, people tend to rely on these automations, becoming more lazy in their lives, especially among the young, which can lead to an inactive lifestyle. Furthermore, the use of advanced devices is increasingly making profits, which encourages entrepreneurs to use colossal amounts of fossil fuels to produce goods that meet big cities’ demands. This activity can release carbon dioxide or toxic substances, damaging our environment and even people’s health.

In conclusion, while strengthening career skills and saving time are prospects of using intelligent automations, the consequences of this trend are a sedentary lifestyle and an impact on the environment, and even on our health.