In today's world of advanced science and technology, we still greatly value our artists such as musicians, painters and writers. What can art tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

In contemporary society, with the widespread use of science and technology, a school of thought questions whether artists still keep their positions or not. I firmly believe that technology cannot replace the arts despite acknowledging some reasons behind it.

It is understandable why some people are concerned about the advancement of science and technology and its potential impact on both the arts and our artists. As some advocates predict, individuals may not be keen on the arts because modern innovations offer other means of entertainment, such as special games that have never been seen before. In contrast, if citizens still adore the arts, digital tools may place creative professionals under pressure. In fact, cutting-edge technology is developing dramatically, which can take over several tasks of artists every time and everywhere when the public needs it. For instance, AI such as ChatGPT and Gemini can compose music, draw pictures, and write novels in just a short time, compared to humans, thereby saving a lot of time. However, I maintain that the arts and individuals in the arts may bring some certain advantages that cannot be found in science and technology.

I am convinced that musicians, painters, and writers play a pivotal role in people’s lives, especially in the globalization process. When advanced systems are booming, the demand for mental well-being is increasing remarkably, and the arts become a part of our daily life. Listening to music and observing paintings allow individuals to blow off some steam after a stressful day of studying or working non-stop, which can do wonders for their mental health. The second reason why AI cannot be compared with art creators is that the work of art, which is created by artists, contains both their soul and heart. Meanwhile, AI is just no more than a machine, which does not have emotions like citizens. Therefore, the works of art, which are made by AI, may not have any love or valuable meaning. For example, when composing a piece of music, musicians often think about their life; as a result, a song may relate to some musician’s memorable events.

In conclusion, although science and technological developments provide some merits, I still hold firm that the arts are always necessary as they foster people’s mental health, and artists also have certain abilities that AI cannot replicate.