In today’s world, private companies rather than the government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays, governments let corporations undertake paying for and carrying out most scientific research. Although this issue has some disadvantages, I believe the benefits are much more significant.

On the one hand, letting research conducted by private businesses can have numerous positive impacts on society as a whole. To begin with, the financial pressure on the national budget can be relieved when those companies are empowered to do scientific research. Thanks to this, authorities are able to allocate funds for other crucial sectors, such as education and transportation, which help citizens have a high quality of life. Moreover, there are likely to be more innovations in research if governments authorize private companies to conduct these research by themselves. This is because there is no limitation on the financial budget, so those companies may feel free to devote more money and time to come up with and apply numerous novel ideas. As a result, they are more likely to gain a lot of remarkable achievements.

On the other hand, there are also some drawbacks that arise from this issue. Firstly, it may be hard for authorities to take control of all corporations’ activities, so some companies may sell their findings to other organizations, such as criminals or terrorists, due to profits. As a result, these orgainizations are likely to negatively affect residents and social order if they create dangerous products, including biological weapons and drugs. Secondly, the public is likely to be required to pay for access the findings by some private businesses because they are unwilling to do unpaid work. Therefore, they can cover expenses as well as make a profit when they use this method.

In conclusion, I believe that this issue can bring more benefits to society than the drawbacks.