In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Nowadays, many schools around the world view teaching english as a priority above teaching the local language. This is because it is seen as a more ‘important’ language which is due to the plethora of opportunities learning the language can bring about. On the other side of the coin, it is being recognised that if this continues, there is a risk of local languages dying out. Personally, I believe it is imperative that everyone gets a chance at learning english. In this essay we will discuss why that is and the risk of local languages dying out.

It is common knowledge that in this age, that English-speaking countries are of importance to those who reside in developing countries and those who are looking for a better life. Hence, I believe it is important that all individuals regardless of their background should have the chance to learn the English language. Although to some English may not seem worthwhile the effort as it is considered a difficult language to learn, the job opportunities and doors it can open are a big motivator to those who are looking for a better life. In the 21st century, most companies whether they are based in a foreign country or an English-speaking one, require some form of English qualification.For example, a recent study from Germany concluded that 80% of online customers have their default language set to English. This implies the importance of learning English in this day and age.

However, I also believe that it is important that we, as a society, should try our best to preserve local languages that are at risk of extinction. Local languages may hold a special place in the hearts of its native people and it would be devastating for them to lose a big part of their identity. Ensuring survival of a language can be achieved by allocating pressure groups in countries that are not actively protecting endangered languages. As well as that, we can explore the culture of the native people who speak those languages and to enrich ourselves. Although this may seem useless as it is hard to enrich yourself in a culture when you do not speak its language, it can bring more attention to linguists and such who are more than welcome to learn the language and enlighten others.

To conclude, I believe that learning English should be of priority to ones ambitionsdue to the opportunities it can provide and connections it can secure. On the other hand, more foreign schools in this day and age view teaching English as more valuable than teaching local languages which poses a big threat to their culture and identity. There are many ways that should be considered when tackling this issue such as enriching foreigners in the culture of locals and employing linguists to teach the language.