In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Today in a global connected world, the English language has played a crucial role in communication, business, and education. While it is important for everyone to learn English in order to make them connected to the world, it is equally vital to preserve local languages, which are essentials to cultural identity and heritage. This essay will deliver the benefit of learning English and the efforts for protecting local languages from extinction.

Learning English is crucial because it serves as a global Lingua Franca where people from different countries, backgrounds, and cultures are able to communicate effectively. Having proficiency in English is also believed as the key to open many opportunities both domestically and internationally. For instance, American and European campuses which known for their advanced technology and education systems, required students have a certain level of English proficiency. Therefore, mastering English can drive someone to create and shape their own success everywhere.

On the other hand, local languages could not be the cost of learning English. The lost of local languages mean the loss of history, culture, and valuable identity. To ensure survival of local languages, the government should bear responsibility to provide certain policies that support local communities or educators related to their effort in keeping local languages. For instance, the younger generation should be taught local languages along their education time. Moreover, more creative community should get more support from the government to showcase local languages in daily life.

In conclusion, while learning English is beneficial and essential, preserving local languages is equally important for maintaining cultural diversity. Both are