In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Undoubtedly, english is a crucial language to learn as it is considered an international language and brings people together. Although it’s recognition has lead to disappearance of other languages. In this essay, I will examine both views and explain why l think it is essential that nationalities preserve their local languages and it can be empasized.

English is wide spoken language around the world. For that reason, it is crucial to have a knowledge of it as it is widely spoken so they are several benefits that comes with understanding it, such as, job opportunities. Also, english makes it more easier for people to intergrate despite their origins. For instance, marriages, individuals can marry from another country that speaks a different language, therefore interconnects the nations.

However, not forgetting the importance of native langauges that are often neglected especially in colonised countries. Authorities should ensure that thier local langauage is being wiped away by implementing laws that advocates the preservation of the local language.For example, in Germany for foreigners to be able to work or study in the country they should learn the language first and, achieve a certain grade before they are authorised visas. Another measure that can be taken is to make sure that the local language sublect is equally important as english module at school. To make it more interesting there should be awards given to pupils for maximising on native language.

In conclusion, English language is an important tool to have in life as it opens doors of life prospects. Local languages are equally essential and government should ensure that it is kept alive by producing laws that are in support of that.