In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

English, which has become a lingua franca, is a gateway to the world and no one should be deprived of the opportunities that it offers. However, this does not mean that local languages or specific dialects are downgraded or unnecessary.

To begin with, people who insist on prioritizing local languages are often those who can speak English fluently, in doing so, they are trying to preserve the traditions and spread them throughout the world by using the English language. For instance, advocates of minority languages from small countries like mine-Georgia, are aware of the fact that without knowing English it is almost impossible to reach the global awareness of people’s needs. Learning English allows people to gain knowledge, communicate with society, further themselves as individuals, and have a global impact. Therefore, it is unfair to frame this for maintaining local languages.

however, this does not imply that regional tongues can be minimized or ignored. Immersion in a historical and traditional community increases a person’s chances of success in school, the workplace, and learning English in general. This tradition includes the use of regional dialects. In recent decades, efforts to revitalize and promote indigenous cultures have shown that teaching English and preserving native languages are mutually reinforcing. In this sense, rather than being a barrier that needs to be overcome, the native tongue acts as the foundation for learning English.

I believe it is essential for everyone to learn English but I feel it is unnecessary to frame learning English and keeping local languages alive as conflicting possibilities. They are not contradictory ideas, in contrast, they should co-exist together to focus on both parts.