increase in petrol prices can control traffic and pollution. How much do you agree or disagree. Give suggestions

I disagree with the statement that increasing petrol prices can control traffic and pollution in today’s era. It is not convincible at all as it can only create chaos and inflation over the period of time.

In country like Pakistan, people use their own private vehicles for commuting, as there is no proper public transportation system here. People can pay more to buy petrol but can’t depend on public transport for going to school, college and their workplace. If Government can develop good electronic means of transport for public then they can rely on it such as trams, trains and shuttle services.

Perhaps another solution to traffic problems is to shift and develop new offices in different locations rather than concentrate only in City centres. As most of the congestion of traffic takes place in commercial areas so different service centres and other markets can be shift in other districts also.

To control pollution, government can start growing trees in cities and in its borders. Furthermore big factories and industries can be shifted to outside city and dump its wastes inside the ground. The old cars, which pollute the environment with its smoke should be totally banned on the road.

In my point of view increasing petrol prices can only bring hike in every commodity prices which is not a good decision for citizens. It is better to find other solutions to solve these growing problems.