Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefits the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

Nowadays the number of students that are choosing to study abroad is increasing. This trend can benefit these students and the countries they are moving to but also have disadvantages.

First and foremost, majority of students are choosing to study in countries that have better quality of education and study materials, which gives opportunities to migrants to study better and more. Secondly, young people by travelling to other part of the world, broaden their horizon by learning about other cultures, they get and an unavoidable to use opportunity to find out what is acceptable in other nations or what is considered as disrespect to others. Therefore, the given topic does not only help students with studying but also helps them see thing the way other nations do. Also, there are some profits for the countries involved too, migrants in order to study there pays certain amount of money to provide an education, accommodation and food, this benefits the economy of the country. In addition, after finishing the university, migrants can land an important for the country job, these students are also able to benefit the country fairly well.

On the other hand, studying abroad is not as good as it seems to be and has it’s own drawbacks. Firstly, there are students that move to other countries to ‘study’ in order to escape their own country because they don’t like it or they do it just because it sounds cool or in order to travel not to study, and in some cases the study materials might be the same or almost the same, and the teachers are always the same because they all teach students by explaining the topic, other staff depends on students, so there is no point in spending money for an education which can be received in native country for more available price. Moreover, culture shock, all countries are unique and have their own traditions, ways of doing something, or the number of things that are not acceptable or acceptable, for instance in Korea it is OK when males wear make-up while in Islamic countries it is highly unacceptable, such differences might lead to culture shock.

To conclude, studying abroad gives students opportunity to learn new things as well as broadens horizons, also it benefits the economy or may be the future of the countries involved. However it has downsides, some people choose it not knowing that it’s not the best thing that suits them, also it might lead to a culture shock.