Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefits the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

Studying abroad has become increasingly common in the last few years. I believe that this phenomenon has its own pros and cons as many students clearly consider the experience worth the sacrifices involved as they will get the chance to broaden their worldview and gain experience. However, another group of people may not adapt to the conditions of the new country or give up friendships when they move abroad.

Most international students find ways of making the experience work well for themselves and others involved. This is to say that most return home, enriched by new friendships made abroad and find ways of adapting what they have learned to their home context. Besides, another advantage of going to other countries for further education is that students can broaden their horizons and get to know people from different cultural backgrounds. For example, I remember when I returned to my country after I had studied 2 semesters in Germany, I could seek much better careers related to my job and be considered an asset to my country due to the high level of knowledge I had gained.

However, this trend has drawbacks as well as benefits for those concerned. One potential drawback is that the instruction international students receive may not be relevent to their home contexts. For example, students from developing countries who go to Western countries for training are often taught to use teaching techniques that are suitable for small classes. Hence, what they have been trained to do may not be relevan. Another potential drawback is the phenomenon of ‘brain drain’. Prior to leaving home, they may be fully committed to returining. Nevertheless, students are often at the stage in their lives when they are forming their most important personal and professional relationships. Thus, they may choose to remain in the host country on completing their studies.

In conclusion, immigrating to foreign countries can contribute to a higher level of knowledge and experience among students while it can result in a paradox in the teaching methods in the two countries the students study in, their home country and the nation they travel to.