Parents should be punished for the crimes of their children. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, crimes among children are increasing significantly. To prevent this issue, many people are suggesting that parents should be punished for crimes of their children. From my perspective, although this advice has some positive aspects, I strongly believe that it is a negative development.

On the one hand, punishing parents for the crimes of their children can bring some positive changes. Firstly, it can make parents aware to take care of their children. Many children usually do not get the proper advices from their parents because their parents stay busy in their jobs or personal problems. As a result, they could not give adequate time to their toddlers, which is resulting in this growing issue. So, if parents be punished for the offences of their son or daughter, they will become more aware to care them. Secondly, those children who commit crimes, basically are unknown about moral values. This is normally parents responsibility to teach them. Thus, parents will also teach them this value if they become punished.

On the other hand, it can create numerous problems such as adolescent will become less afraid about doing crimes, high chances of separating from home. When a children will notice that they are not being punished for their crimes, they will become dangerous and might consider crimes normally. As a consequence, fear from his mind will be diminish. Besides, in some case, by being irritated from the crimes of their toddlers, parents may remove their children from family by making them isolated. This can create more negative consequences.

To conclude, this advice can contribute to reduce crimes to some extent, I think it can be a strong negative development.