Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undeniably, the amount of pollution problems will increase, if traffic is caused by cars that emit a huge proportion of carbon dioxide. Some people believe that by increasing the price petrol, we can control the growth of traffic and pollution problems in the best way that is possible. In my opinion, increasing the price of petrol can not be efficient unless we have high quality public transportation.

Increasing the price of petrol will not put a strain on people in order to use public transportation, if there are no high standard equipment available. People should see a significant benefit in using subways and buses to stop using their own vehicle and help the environment by making less traffic and exhaust fumes. On the other hand, even if augmentation of the price of petrol helps in forcing people to use public vehicle, after a while, people will go back to using their own cars hence subways and buses are crowded. Congestion of public vehicles is a marked disadvantage and governments must consider the capacity of their public transportation before increasing the price of petrol.

Despite this, in cities that have a high-quality public transportation and sufficient capacity in compare to their population, augmentation of the price of petrol can be a suitable idea. In these cities people may tend to stop using their own cars as they see it more beneficial. Consequently, less traffic and pollution will be produced and it will end up as an eco-friendly decision.

In conclusion, without having an ideal infrastructure, increasing the price of petrol will not be an environmentally friendly decision and will not help in stopping the growth of traffic problems. Therefore, it will not reduce the amount of pollution made by this cause.