Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Pollution problems and traffic jam problems are the main topics to discuss nowadays, and I strongly believe that increasing the price per trip is the best way to solve these problems, due to certain reasons.

First, if the price of petrol increases, fewer people will use their cars, leading to reduced traffic jams and pollution problems. For instance, in Azerbaijan, almost every family has a car, sometimes even more than one. If the price of petrol increases, it will hit family budgets; it will be better for them to use only one car or to ride public transportation. Nowadays, public transportation is the fastest and most ecological way to travel; in addition, it is not that expensive.

The second reason is that individuals will see fewer people using cars. This reason may not seem very important; however, it is. I believe that people copy each other, especially if they are in the same environment. Individuals who do not have money for petrol will switch to public transportation, and people who are their friends at work or classmates who have money for petrol will go with them. For example, I am telling this from my experience. When the price of petrol increased, my family could not afford to use private transportation anymore, so they told me that I had only one option—to use public transportation. I asked a friend to go with me to the bus station after school. When we were waiting for my bus, she told me to message her when I got home. When I arrived home, I immediately did so; she answered quickly and asked, “How long did your route last?” I told her, and she was shocked. Since that day, she has used public transportation almost every day, and that is very good for our environment as well as it reduces traffic jams.

In conclusion, from my point of view, if the price of petrol increases, half of the environmental and traffic jam problems will disappear. In addition, the government could make some strict rules, for example: no more than one car per family.