The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

There is growing concern about health issues in modern society in children’s but among them overweight is considered most serious issue. The ratio has been increased in past few years. This essay will discuss following causes and effects of this trend.

To begin with causes, the first and furthermost important reason is having unhealthy eating habits. This is because of lack of home cooked food which lead to increase in intake of more junk, packaged and surgary drinks. Secondly, it is due to sedentary lifestyle. The main reason behind this is decrease in outdoor activities and increase in screen time. For example, choosing indoor activities instead of outside sports. Apart from this, parental influence. The key factor for this is not providing proper amount of awareness to their children and overfeeding them. Lastly, children get more influenced by advertisements through cartoons and celebrities.

As a result, these causes have their effects the major effect occurs on health which creates more health problems like obesity, increase in diabetes, heart attack and have a weak immune system. The other effect is psychological effect. For instance, bullying and low social life due to poor body image and low self-esteem which leads to stress, anxiety and depression. Consequently, it also impacts on academics. This reduces concentration and energy levels which results in poor results. Meanwhile, it decreases in productivity and can make effect on future.

In conclusion, overweight children’s have these causes and effects. However, this disturbing trend can be reduced by the societies, governments and parents.