Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given the growing prevalence of vehicle crowding and emissions in modern society, it is thought by some that increasing petrol prices is an optimal solution. While acknowledging the merits of this perspective, I am convinced that there are more viable solutions that deserve broader adoption.

Granted, increasing this type of fossil fuel prices may address the environmental problems including traffic and pollution to a certain extent. Take, for example, money-conscious individuals, who are likely to be concerned about the heavy costs of petrol. As a result, they are likely to opt for other public transportations at the expense of their personal means. This shift not only mitigates environmental degradation by reducing the reliance on private means, but also alleviates the traffic congestion, particularly in densely-populated urban areas.

However, raising petrol costs may disproportionately impose a tremendous financial strain on lower-income groups. In fact, the increase in petrol costs has been associated with economic disparity, making essential travel unaffordable for some. This implies that the rising cost of petrol would exacerbate existing inequalities, because they are less able to absorb price increases without sacrificing other necessary expenses such as food and healthcare, compared to other prosperous people. Therefore, elevating prices may ultimately be tantamount to placing an unfair financial burden on the underprivileged.

Alternatively, instead of relying solely on petrol price hikes, there are more feasible and equitable measures that could be implemented to confront traffic jams and air contamination. First, improving infrastructure on the road such as pedestrian pathways and dedicated bike lanes can incentivize the general public to cycle and walk at the expense of using modes of transport. This can be exemplified by the fact that Amsterdam and Copenhagen have successfully reduced car usage by creating cyclist-friendly infrastructure, substantiating that people will adopt alternative means of transport if they are safe and handy. In tandem with this, it is of utmost importance for the authorities and the media to alert individuals about the risk of a petrol shortage via the Internet, news, among countless others. These solutions not only provide practical alternatives to car usage but also address both congestion and pollution in a fair and sustainable manner.

In conclusion, although raising petrol prices can lead to some effects, I believe that this measure is not the best solution, as it is likely to result in struggling financially for many. Therefore, to reduce traffic congestion and pollution, improving infrastructure quality and issuing warnings about the potential risk of a petrol shortage should be prioritized by the authorities.