Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement? What other measures do you think might be effective? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Increaing air pollution and traffic conjestion are two of the today’s world problems. To tackle these issues, increasing petrol’s price is said to be the best practical solution. I partially agree with this view, since there are many other approaches that can solve this problem from scratch.

Never has a rise in price of a product been seen without causing public demonstrations if there is no other replacement. Petrol price is not an exception. Although this approach can cause a minor reduction in the use of private cars for a short time, if the replacing infrastructure for fulfilling this need is not availabale, either people have to undertake the pressure of the prices or the government should rethink the policy they have chosen. By way of illustration, if the infrastructure for public transportation, including buses, underground subways, and trams were not broadly available, people may get to their workplace or school late, which may lead them to go back to their traditional way of transportion in order to prevent financial and educational harm. All these consequences illustrates that this approach solely will not be effective enough.

While increasing the price of petrol is metioned as a temporary solution, advertising the culture of using public transportation as well as improving it in a way that it become available for everyone would demonestrate better result on a long run. Increasing public awareness, Additionally, about the detrimental effects of pollution can encourage people to be more resposible toward their city. Last but not least, offering green cars that use solar power instead, would we be a solution toward pollution; however, if used in large scale, the issue regarding traffic would worsen. Consequently, a combination of various methods and approaches must be provided in order to tackle this issue permanently.

In brief, rising petrol’s prices if not considered as the best approach toward reducing traffic and pollution, can be regarded as a temporary solution. However, a thoughtfull combination of several approaches along side the eagerness of people, would be a more effective way.