Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement? What other measures do you think might be effective? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people believe that the best way to reduce traffic congestion and its pollution problems is to raise the petrol price. Personally, I completely disagree with this view.

For a variety of reasons it would be wrong to increase the price of petrol. Firstly, it would influence the cost of other goods and services in that area, which can be a pressure. on poor individuals. Secondly, travelling by car would become unaffordable for the majority of people, leading to an isolated society. Finally, for rich people, increasing the cost of petrol is not important and they continue to use their private vehicles.

There are various other solutions to overcome the problem of traffic congestion and pollution. The best measure can be encouraging people to use public transport by making it safer and reliable. Moreover, the government should give the citizens more incentives for cycling and walking, which can happen by the construction of specific roads. lastly, it is a good idea to share the cars for the same destinations.

In conclusion, while some argue that for solving the rising traffic and pollution, increasing the cost of petrol is the best idea, I believe that there are other more effective measures, including adopting public transport, encouraging cycling and walking, and sharing cars.