Having a salaries job is better than being self-employed. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Some people believe that the benefits of a salaried worker outweigh those of working for oneself. I hold a different perspective and would argue that working freelance has a lot more benefits.

I think that being a freelancer is better than being a salaried worker because being self-employed has much more flexibility in working hours. As a result, workers do not have to work the whole day and can easily arrange their daily tasks, such as visiting the doctor, taking their children to school, or playing outdoor sports. Meanwhile, working for a company means that one has to follow the work schedule, which usually takes an entire day, and at least eight days per week, thus, freelance workers have more time during the day to make plans for personal activities and achieve work-life balance.

Furthermore, being one’s own boss means one may have more autonomy and power to make business decisions. This freedom is important in a person’s work life because it gives one more motivation to innovate, which could lead to a more satisfying career. In contrast, working for someone often means following their orders. For example, it is common in Vietnamese culture that subordinates completely abide by what their boss says, which can sometimes cause tension and a loss of work spirit.

In conclusion, I believe that working independently is better than working for a company. My reason is that it allows balance in work hours and freedom in making business decisions, which could improve workers’ mental state and job satisfaction level.