Increasing water pollution has now become a global cause of concern. Many life threatening diseases are caused due to water pollution. What are the causes of water pollution? What can be done to solve the problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Recently, water pollution has become an important issue at a global level because it gives rise to many fatal diseases. Consequently, this essay will discuss the main causes of water pollution, and propose necessary solutions to mitigate them.

Several factors contribute to the increase in water pollution. To begin with, the industrial waste disposed of by various chemical industries is the main reason for water pollution. There are several hazardous chemicals in it, which react with water, thus polluting it. Additionally, many people in underdeveloped countries immerse statues into water that directly pollutes it. To explain this further, these statues contain a chemical called Plaster of Paris, that breaks down in water and pollutes it significantly. For instance, after festivals, many people in India discharge statues in water that results in an increase in the pollution levels.

Next, there are several solutions that assist in mitigating these problems. In order to minimize water pollution, caused by industrial factories, government needs to impose strict rules and regulations. To explain this further, these organisations should never be permitted to throw any kind of industrial waste in water. Moreover, several cleaning programmes should be organised by the government to spread awareness about this global problem. As a result, the number of people, getting involved to resolve this issue will increase. For instance, recently, the state government of Gujarat organised a seminar which spread awareness on the increasing water pollution in Narmada river.

To conclude, water pollution is a serious issue, which is caused by various factors. Having said that, imposing strict rules and spreading awareness can help mitigate this problem.