Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer group pressure. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Youth appear to be frequently influenced by their peers. In my opinion, although youngsters can get motivated by the success of others, it forces them to change one’s essence to fit into society.

Young people can get influenced by the success stories of others and acquire self-confidence to work towards their goals. Seeing a real-life example of someone young achieving remarkable things can spark hope in one’s abilities. High school students, for example, may get inspired by other teenagers who got into top universities and subsequently decide to apply there. In the same way, young adults can have a long-lasting impact on each other’s lives. Thus, youngsters observing and imitating one another can easily create space for motivation and self-assurance.

On the other hand, young people can alter their personality or unique traits to be like others. It is a common situation as they are often afraid to differ and stand out. It can be evidenced by individuals who strictly follow fast fashion trends despite having their own preferred style. Such behavior is often connected to a fear of judgement. As a result, young people hide or modify their interests to be like their peers.Therefore, being influenced by peers can limit and change one’s self-expression.

In conclusion, despite youth getting an inspiration from others, I believe that cannot outweigh the loss of one’s individuality.