Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer group pressure. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often mentioned that youths’ personality and how they behave are shaped by the surrounding people or environment around them. The following discussion will explore both the positive and negative aspect of children’s influence from their companion

On one hand, there can be a quality reason that peer influence leads to improvement in a teenager’s personality and behaviour. If the children ‘s environment is surrounded with kindness and hardworking individuals, children will bear in their mind and repeat the act that their peers do. For instance, kids have friends that are always diligent at studying, polite, always think before they act, and respect others. If children spend most of their time with this kind of person, they will improve themselves because they see a good example and learn positive behaviors, values, and attitudes from them.

On the other hand, peer influence can have negative effects on children and teenagers. When young people try hard to get into a group or fit in with their peers, they may feel pressured to do things they do not normally do, such as smoking, skipping school, saying bad words, or involving in risky behavior. This pressure can lead them to poor decisions and lose focus on their personal goals. For example, the student might start skipping class with their peers because they are forced to and think studying is boring. At first, it is fun but later their grades will drop and they will become a terrible student. This shows how negative causes may be created from peer pressure.

In a nutshell, while peer influence can shape children in both negative and positive ways, its impact depends on the kind of people they are surrounded by. If they are around good role models, they will likely develop positive habits. In contrast, if they fall into the wrong group, it can lead to poor choices and harmful behaviors.In my view, it is important for guardians and teachers to guide children how they should choose their friends and environment for healthier development for themselves.