Some people believe that teachers should focus mainly on teaching academic subjects, not to be responsible for teaching students important life skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, the question of whether educators should only concentrate in conveying academic knowledge for students but ignoring guiding essential life skills has sparked a heated debate among parents. From my perspective, I somewhat agree to this viewpoint in terms of education performance and scoring number, however, lack of vital social skills can significantly impact students’ behaviours and attitudes. This essay will explain the main reasons that justify my opinion.

To begin with, teachers focus mainly on academic subjects and considerably support learners with their achievement at schools and other examinations. This is primarily because not only teachers spread more information and knowledge to the students, but also help them to meticulously adjust their learning method, which positively affects performances and scores. To be more specific, by spending all the lessons and classes to focus on difficult subjects such as mathematics and science, teachers can enhance their students’ band and overall general awareness. Moreover, a student can actually unlock his or her full potential and ability in several subjects thanks to the concentration of educators in teaching and guiding. A teacher who is willing to dedicate their quality time might be able to benefit both students and education programmes.

Nevertheless, if teachers are not responsible for real life and social skills, then there will be a lack of important knowledge about the world. Life skills play a pivotal role in shaping children’ thinking and their behaviour, creating an opportunity for them to adapt and get acquainted with the world outside. Having an indispensable role in schools and education, educators should have responsibilities to guide and help students feel comfortable when exposed to society. For instance, Vietnam usually has outdoor classes which tend to teach life skills and how to be independent, which offers a place for students to improve their critical thinking, sometimes it acts as a zone for them to build up their own discipline and good attitude towards people. Another noticeable point is that creating an environment that is suitable for students in accumulating life skills can develop their communication ability. With numerous practical activities, they are capable of socializing with people, even fluently debate and talk with foreigners.

In conclusion, although focusing on academic topics can make a school’ reputation increase due to the rate of talented students starting to rise, it fails to deliver essential skills that are needed in society. A balanced and sustained approach between two learning categories might be the most efficient method for teachers to fulfil their role.