Increasingly large numbers of students are undertaking their higher education in other countries. Despite problems such as the financial cost and the difficulty of studying in a foreign language, the benefits of studying overseas are often thought to be greater than the difficulties. To what extent do you agree?

Over the past decades more and more students prefer to undertake their higher education in foreign countries. Although there are a lot of difficulties related to this, I believe that the benefits of studying abroad outweigh all the drawbacks.

Studying overseas helps students to learn foreign language a lot faster than they would learn it in a home country. In a new country students are immersed into a new language and they don’t have another way other than learn it and try to understand lecturers, other students and locals. According to statistics, after 1 year of education abroad students show higher progress in learning a new language compared with those students who prefer to undertake higher education in their home country.

Higher education received overseas subsequently helps students with their career opportunities. Students learning abroad might receive internship offers from local companies interested in talented young employees. For example, some popular universities in Great Britain like Cambridge, attract hundreds of students every year because of the high quality education and excellent internships it provides.

In conclusion, despite all the drawbacks, higher education overseas has a lot of benefits. It will give young students a lot of opportunities to increase their knowledge of foreign languages and help to boost their careers in future.