Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home , leisure and work activities . To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages ?

Nowadays, most people rely on information technology to carry out tasks in the workplace, at home and during their free time. Generally, the benefits are much more than the drawbacks, but it depends on the usage we make of this means.

On the one hand, technological resources enable us to save a lot of time when looking for information. As a matter of fact, it takes just one click to find the exact piece of information we need, without having to consult books or to ask other people for it. For instance, if you want to prepare a cake for your mom’s birthday, all you need to do is google “cake recipe” and you will come across thousands of results.

On the other hand, though, there are those who argue that we are becoming increasingly dependent on such technology. As far as they are concerned, we are no longer able to do certain activities without it. An example could be writing a school paper: recent studies show that young people are not capable of using library tools anymore, because they can find all the information they need on the internet with much less effort.

Personally, I think that these disadvantages only come up when we use information technology in the wrong way. If we use it without being able to carry out certain activities on our own, it is more likely that we become dependent on it and we are not completely aware of what we are doing. It would be like learning how to run before we can walk.

Finally, information technology has undoubtedly revolutionised our daily lives, resulting in plenty of advantages. Nevertheless, it is up to us to use this instrument correctly and make the best out of it.