International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is argued that international tourism comes with both advantages and disadvantages that has a great influence on local citizens as well as the local environment. This essay will argue that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. The essay will demonstrate that tourism negatively affects residents due to higher costs of social activities as well as basic amenities and disrupts the environment by overcrowding. This is followed by an analysis of how the primary advantage of more employment does not outweigh the drawbacks.

The main reason why the travel industry interferes with the well being of local inhabitant is that the increase of tourism goes hand in hand with the increase of costs of social activities as well as basic amenities. The reason for this is that sellers can significantly increase there prices as tourists are often willing to pay more. Consequently residents also have to face higher costs. The growth of international tourism also has a negative impact on the environment. As a matter of fact, tourist often contribute to disturbing wild life animal by the overcrowding of nature reserves. And not only that, travelers also often disregard rules, for example if they want to take a picture. This can lead to a number of harmful outcomes not only for animals, but for entire ecosystems.

On the other hand, the increase of international tourism also got benefits, such as the growth of employment opportunities in the hotel and catering industry. However, this is only of great importance in low income cities. For instance, in cities like London or Paris there is no lack of employment possibilities and the benefits therefore do not outweigh the drawbacks.

On balance, the disturbance and the impact of the growth of the travel industry on local inhabitants and the environment does not outweigh the increase of employment.