International tourism has greatly benefited many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and environment. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

International tourism has become a major source of opportunity for many countries. However there are also concerns that tourism may have a bad effects on the local environment. In my view , in spite of advantages , the disadvantages outweigh them.

On the one hand, international tourism has a lot of advantages. First of them is economic growth. Because government spend plenty of money on the development of tourist places. For instance , in 2008 Dubai became a tourist destination despite the country’s poverty. Thanks to the fact that they have invested in the development of tourism in their country, their economy has grown greatly. Secondly, tourism provides people with job. If tourism develops, then places such as restaurants, cafes and hotels will need additional workers. So tourism helps the country to develop very much from the economic side.

But on the other hand, if viewed from an environmental point of view, these problems overshadow all the positive effects of tourism. Environment deteriorates for two reasons. First, tourist infrastructures such as hotels and roads can occupy large areas and interfere with natural ecosystems. Second, tourism can lead to intensive consumption of natural resources such as water , energy and food. In regions with high tourist activity, there may be shortages of water, energy and food , which can lead to depletion of natural resources. At the moment, these problems may seen insignificant ,but over time they will turn into global issues.

In conclusion I can say that even if tourism helps the economy grow, we should be more concerned about the environment.