Internet technology means that people no longer need to travel to foreign countries to understand how other people live. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that traveling to another country to learn about the lifestyle of people is no longer necessary thanks to the widespread use of the Internet. Personally, I partly agree with this suggestion because of some reasons that will be explained in this essay.

On the one hand, the Internet provides rich sources of other nations’ way of living. In order to learn about the lifestyle of people around the world, a person consistently has to get exposed to various elements of culture, tradition, and even culinary practices, which are impossible as it requires travelling for a long time. Thanks to many videos, images, newspaper articles as well as courses educating about other civilisations on the Internet, individuals can gain social knowledge without travelling and spending money. As a result, the Internet with its convenience helps people learn about different lifestyles on a global scale regardless of distance.

On the other hand, since culture is a dynamic matter, it does not remain unchanged over time. Hence, the Internet may not always capture its true state. For example, as fashion or people’s style of wearing is a field that constantly changes in line with the trends of each era, learning through information sources updated on the Internet may give an outdated view on this aspect. Furthermore, cuisine, a prominent feature of the lifestyle of foreign people, cannot be comprehended and assessed effectively only by observation. As a result, it necessitates immersive experiences, and via this, travelling is of an important role for tourism purposes.

In conclusion, the Internet with a wide range of information sources truly brings the ease in learning about different cultures and people’s lifestyles around the world without travelling. However, due to the changes in some aspects of culture such as fashion, or culinary tradition, some information sources updated on the Internet may become unreliable, making travelling necessary to bring an exact and effective experience to people.