Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Interviews have been an integral part of recruiting new employees in many well-known companies. However, more and more people believe that this cannot assess the comprehensive talents and skills of applicants. Personally, I completely agree with this statement.

On the one hand, I can understand why some people disagree with this opinion. They may argue that interviews can help recruiters assess the interviewees’ communication skills which are definitely important for the development of an organization. This is because by actively initiating conversations with customers and introducing goods in an appealing way, staff can increase loyal consumers, potentially generating more revenue. Moreover, problem-solving skills and critical thinking are two prime qualities which are essential in most contemporary companies. Through behavioral situations and questions in interview sessions, interviewers can easily find the most suitable people to take on new positions. However, I do not think these arguments are reasonable since there are several current problems with these criteria. Firstly, it is obvious that some occupations, such as programmers or other house-bound jobs, do not need interpersonal skills, instead, they need to possess time management skills and discipline to outperform in their fields. That means interviews cannot help managers choose an appropriate person. Additionally, interviews sometimes are inequitable because there are many cases where personal biases, such as for attractive appearance and impersonal first impressions, can affect the choice of interviewers.

On the other hand, one of the most reliable ways for recruitment is through internships and apprenticeships. These time-requirement environments can help managers have more time to monitor applicants. As a result, they can have more statistics about these interns’ realistic skills and qualities, ensuring a skilled workforce in the future. Additionally, beyond specialized skills, a harmonious ambiance with co-workers is also one of the prerequisite requirements. As group projects and collaborations are absolutely vital in every company to have more innovation and breakthroughs, fostering a competitive position in today’s inconsistent market.

In conclusion, while interviews to some extent can help executives have justified reasons to recruit suitable employees through their interpersonal skills, such as communication, problem-solving and, critical thinking skills, it is more important to consider other measures, such as assessment through apprenticeship performance and collaboration.