It is a good idea for people to continue working in their old age if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In this day and age, it is commonly believed that seniors ought to work if it is feasible for them since it is a brilliant idea. As far as I am concerned, I am inclined to agree with this statement to a certain degree.

On one hand, for old people to keep doing their job in ideal conditions may prevent them from becoming a burden to society. Initially, having a job as a senior citizen enables people to be financially independent in their old age. For instance, old people can work as a gardener or a retailer given that those careers do not demand people to be extremely healthy. Furthermore, their children are facilitated to grow and not be hindered by their old parents. This is clearly illustrate by the fact that some seniors in Viet Nam turn down their children’s subsidies with the intention of not being a barier to their children’s success.

On the other hand, there are numerous detrimental factors that affect old people if they work. First of all, they may face some serious health problems under too much stress For example, there are many cases of old workers in Japan having heart problems as a result of being tensed on a regular basis. Moreover, they may not have the same ability as young people, making them less efficient at work. This is clearly illustrated by the fact that some corporations are making redundancies on old people as they do not meet the employer’s expectation. Nevertheless, there are methods to tackle this such as having them attend regular health checkups.

In conclusion, I agree with the view that it is a good idea for seniors to work if it is possible for them. Nonetheless, people should be wary of the drawbacks it may bring.