It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. Dinosaurs, dodos …) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that animal extinction is a natural process which should not be intervened in by humans. I largely agree with this argument given the importance of the process and the urge to address more urgent issues even though the disappearance of species might lead to serious harm to the ecosystem.

The foremost rationale for my disapproval of human intervention lies in the crucial role of extinction in natural selection. Specially, the selection process, one of the fundamental laws of nature, ensures that species incapable of acclimatizing to environmental changes are eliminated to allow for more suitable species to survive. If humans interfered with the elimination of some species, this fundamental principle as well as the normal development of the natural world would be seriously disrupted.

Another reason as for why I oppose the endeavour of halting animal extinction is the presence of more pressing challenges. Notably, there exist a number of perennial problems, including environmental pollution, international conflicts and overpopulation, which might not only downgrade people’s living standards but also threaten the existence of mankind. Consequently, allocating resources to tackle these urgent problems takes precedence over preserving certain animal species.

Nevertheless, I acknowledge the potential degradation of the ecosystem associated with the extinction of animal species. If one or more animal species are lost forever, this would disrupt the food chain as other animals would lose important sources of food. This could lead to a chain reaction of other animals and by extension the breakdown of the wider ecosystem, threatening both global food security and human habitats.

In conclusion, I mostly endorse the opposition to human protection of animal species from extinction considering its importance in natural selection and the significance of solving more immediate problems despite the possible loss in biodiversity. That is why governments should halt all related projects and redirect their resources to more important ones.