It is believed that individuals who engage in reading books can cultivate greater imagination and linguistic abilities than those who prefer television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the people having interest in reading book can imagine and use language better than those keen on television. In my perspective, I strongly agree with this stament.

On the one hand, reading books, especially novels, can allow readers to immerse themselves in the world of fictionary. There are numerous famous authors who can use their rich language abilities to make the readers smile, cry and furious with the characters. This is because the readers are truly put themselves in the background and content of the books, which why they have the same emotion and also sympathy to these characters. For instance, by using the creative and colorful imagination, J.K.Rowling created a fantasy world and make her readers fall into it. By reading various types of novel, individual can not only gain knowledge from the diversity of linguistic but also break their limitation of imagination.

On the other hand, watch the programmes, films, or dramas on television is not quite a good way to cultivate and improve the linguist and imagination. In particular, some people, especially youngster do not have much patience for watching full of the programme. They tend to fast-forwarding to the part that they like without watching the whole story. Consequently, they may not understand the meaning of the films that the script writter want to convey to, and their emotional connectivities are disrupted. Therefore, they may not extend their linguists or imagination.

In conclusion, I believe reading books can help people to foster their ability to use linguist and open their imagination rather than watching television.