It is better for companies to help their workers feel happy at work rather than put lots of pressure on them for the sake of profit. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that corporations should help their employees gain happiness at the workplace rather than exert pressure to make more profits. Personally, I totally agree with this point of view for many reasons.

To start with, there will be a great deal of advantages for both workers and companies if they gain comfort during the process of working. Chief of these is that it is one of the most efficacious ways to improve productivity. This means that when employees feel satisfied, they are more responsible for the tasks assigned, being motivated, creative, and willing to contribute more to their organizations. Therefore, by concentrating on enhancing staff well-being, the companies can achieve better performance and greater benefits in the long run. Besides, a favorable work environment helps retain elite individuals and reduce turnover. This is because when they do not feel very stressed, they are less likely to experience burnout and are more likely to stay with the company longer.

Meanwhile, putting lots of pressure on workers will lead to a range of potential disadvantages. Firstly, increasing pressure can result in plenty of problems and negative emotions such as exhaustion, stress, boredom, and even depression among personnel, triggering the diminution of productivity and effectiveness at work. Added to this is the fact that the more they are under persistent pressure, the more they desire to find a new environment that is more agreeable and comfortable. However, recruitment and training of new staff is entirely pricey; thus, this can spark high turnover rates and an oppressive work atmosphere, restricting the company’s success.

In conclusion, while some may argue that pressuring employees is necessary for profit maximization, focusing on employee happiness will bring more sustainable benefits for both workers and company.