It is better to buy just a few expensive clothes, rather than lots of cheaper clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

While some believe it is better to purchase a few expensive clothes, some prefer to purchase lots of affordable clothes. This essay aims to discuss both opinions and provide my personal view.

It can be argued that expensive clothes cost more because of more durability, higher quality and skilled craftsmanship. Some of these brands spend years gaining customer trust and honing their craft which is why some people would pay premium prices for them. Additionally, the material used might be exclusive like pashmina wool or real leather which is extremly hard to source. Furthermore, It is environmentally more sustainable to consume and purchase less articles as all of these end up in landfills after use.

On the contrary, It is not possible for most consumers to afford these articles/clothes and some prefer affordablity. In today’s digital world, It is extremely easy to find high-quality, luxurious looking clothes at a fraction of price from anywhere in the world. Additionally, most of these expensive, international brands are multi-million-dollar conglomerates that manufacture these articles in third world countries like India and Vietnam, paying workers minimum wage. On the other hand, you could support local and affordable brands that are working hard and are ethically producing these articles.

Albeit, less is more, and owning fewer expensive clothes might make you look luxurious. I personally believe, a more balanced approach is needed, including some expensive clothes for more special occasions and more affordable clothes for regular use.